Testimonials

Charles Janet

Dear Sir or Madam,

We are writing this email to commend Hamsa for the fantastic wildlife safari tour he guided us on from Dec. 31, 2012, through Jan. 6, 2013. Hamsa was extremely knowledgeable about the different parks & conservation areas we visited and the wildlife living there. He had an incredible talent for finding rare animals such as lions, cheetahs, leopards, rhinos, and many others! Hamsa was an excellent driver and got us safely to all of our destinations. Hamsa is very personable, answered all of our many questions and was very patient while we took photographs. We had a great time traveling with Hamsa! If we came back for another safari, we definitely would want him to be our guide. Please convey our sincere thanks to Hamsa for his efforts to give us a terrific experience on our wildlife safari.

Very truly yours,

Åsa Sund

Excellent guides!

Hello, I am on my way home to Sweden from a fantastic trip with Zara tours. We climbed Kilimanjaro via the Lemosho route Jan 19-26.
I have been on serveral climbing expeditions around the world and I just want you to know that your guides at this trip has been the best. Very professional and determined to give us a great experience. For example: Unfortunately one of the participants in our group didn’t respons well to high altitudes, and the way the guides handeled that was very professional, making sure he was taken care of in the best way.


I want you to know how pleased we are with the guides and their team, we will recommend them and Zara to anyone planning to climb Kilimanjaro.
The guides we had was:
Lucas Mmassa, head guide, Nicolas Kabila and Hatibu.


Thanks for a great experience!


Regards/ Sund

Dan
We got home yesterday.

Thanks so much for leading an unforgettable trip to Uhuru! Your and your team’s great service, continuous upbeat attitude and good humor made the trip a winner, despite the rain and snow every day. I will never forget the way you and Victor helped Stephan down the mountain when he got the altitude sickness – he is now completely recovered, and the way you, Husseini and Ashmani kept us going to the top. It is this dedication that will make us recommend you and Zara Tours.

Thanks again,

Jutta

We had in September 2012 unforgetable holidays in Tanzanias national parks. Your guide nicknamed Josh and driver Mohamad showed us country, people and best of all the wildness of animals. It was fantastic!

Please forward them our special greeting

Joanne
Hello,
I recently went to Tanzania and did both Kilimanjaro (Lemosho route) and a 5 day safari with Zara.The trip was excellent, and was more than I could ever have imagined.
What made it amazing was my trek guide Charles Thadey Shayo. He was so incredible, I would and will recommend him to anyone. It is rare to find someone that looks at the big picture, who understands hospitality and is so genuine – in two languages!
He and our waiter Dilunga, were teaching me Swahili, were friendly, interactive and a pleasure to be around.
I have kept in contact with Charles, and I am actually now planning to return to Tanzania, and have encouraged my friends to do the Zara safari (our guide Emmanuel was really great as well).
I just wanted you to know how incredible these workers are, they are so valuable and promote Zara in such a positive light. It really made the difference for me. I work in non-profit and hospitality so these qualities are really important for me.
Thank you again – it was a life changing trip and I cannot wait to get back to Moshi.
Lacey Guest

HI there,
I recently booked a tour through your company (sustainable package 2) and just wanted to write and let you know how pleased I was with the entire experience. Everything exceeded my expectations and I am so grateful for the experience I had with your organization. Your hotels are beyond amazing. Your staff (at the hotel, the guides, safari drivers, etc) are all so friendly and helpful. I was especially pleased with the Highview hotel. The hotel’s walking guide took us on a tour of the hotel grounds and the coffee farm and was extremely knowledgeable about everything, including plants, animals and history of the area. I enjoyed this experience very much. When I return to Tanzania I will definitely be booking with Zara Tours again. Thank you so much, it truly was the trip of a lifetime!

JPamela Brouillard
Dear Zara Tours,
I just wanted to compliment you on the outstanding service we had on our recent Kili climb on the Lemosho route (June 4th-10th). Our guides were outstanding. Yahoo! was an incredible leader who managed the day to day operation of the camp and climbing in a calm and thoughtful manner. I also want to compliment Jacob, Hamesi, and Soloman as well as all the others for their thoughtful and patient assistance on the climb. I couldn’t have done it without their help and expert guidance. Thanks for making the TDS climb such a successful experience.
Jemma norton

“To the Zara Team,

We would just like to thank you all for making our Kilimanjaro Adventure so memorable. We did the 6-day Marangu route in aid of the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation in Australia and to celebrate the life of our beloved mother who passed away. We managed to raise over $17,000 between 4 of us.
Thanks to your team of amazing and experienced guides and porters, each member of our team successfully summited. We would like to thank them personally – Bouga, Samwell, Daniel and Thomas!! Thank you all so much, you’re stars!! We miss you already! We also encourage anyone looking for a lifetime adventure, to contact Zara Tours, and get involved! You will be amazed!
Jem, Melo, Papa Simba, Liza, Mick, Julie”
All my best Zara and thanks again Kind regards,

Katie

Hi, Zara.
I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful experience we had with you. My friends and I hiked the seven day Machame trail with our guide Innocent and assistant guide Mohammed. The staff at Springlands bent over backwards to make us comfortable, especially the owner, Zainab Ansell. Thank you, Mama! We had a great time!

Anonymous
Good afternoon,

My group recently climbed Kilimanjaro with your company (Mellups party) and first of all, I can not thank you and your guides enough for the experience of a lifetime. We were treated like family. Thank you,

Jin
Dear Zara Tours,
Nick and I had fully intended to have a conversation with Zainab prior to our depature, but she was busy both times we went by her office. So hopefully this note will get to her some way. Just wanted to say that we had a fantastic experience with Zara, and Festo was a HUGE part of it. He is the reason why every single person in our group made it to the top, including me! His guidance helped us avoid altitude sickness and various other ailments climbers generally experience. His encouragement – “Have a strong mind, think positive, you are going to make it” quite literally pushed me to peak (I repeated the phrase to myself countless times on the ascent to Uhuru!). I always felt safe and taken care of during the 7 days we were on the Mountain; Festo and his team are simply exceptional! Thanks for your time. It would be greatly appreciated if this note gets passed on to Zainab.
Ben
We had an amazing time and Zara was the reason. The trip was perfect and we have only the best things to say about the way were treated. Starting with Jane in the front office, she was so helpful and followed up with us at the Springlands. She also helped us get pictures from our guides phone from Kilimanjaro! Really a great problem solver.

Juma was our guide on Kilimanjaro and he was so professional and helpful. He saw to our every need, making sure we were healthy and safe. He even held my girlfriend’s hand on the way up to the summit as she was very nervous. Further he helped my daughter down from the summit when she felt sick, making her feel so much better. He also cares about the porters. It was very heartwarming to see him check on all of the porters, cook and waiter to make sure they were doing well. He also greeted everyone on the trail by name and handed out candy to them to keep their spirits up. His representation of Zara was a reflection of the highest level of professionalism and caring. I highly recommend him.

Qweka was our guide for the safari. He was so knowledgeable and educated in everything about the land and animals. He also was amazing at finding the animals. We saw everything while we were on safari including the Black Rhino which I realize now was a very rare sighting. The camps at the Ngorongoro and Serengeti were so beautiful and luxurious, it was hard to believe we were in tents! I highly recommend Qweka and felt that anyone would be lucky to have him as a guide.

Thank you again for such a great experience,

Ben

Austin, TX USA Jan 10/2019

I enjoyed both my Kilimanjaro climb and Safari tours.
Omari is a great guide and I do not think I could have reached the summit without his and the other guides’ help.

One of my colleagues is already doing the Kilimanjaro climb with you.

Kind Regards

Dorte-Lene Bacher
My family and I just returned after 3 wonderful weeks in Tanzania. and we would like to send our warmest regards.

We climbed Kilimanjaro under the most excellent and professional guidance of chief-guide Winford Mtui. He and his co-guides Josef and Bryson were the best guides ever, and we really appreciated their good humor, their patience, and the way their “nursed” us at all time during the trekking – also when I had to climb down the mountain. The rest of the team – including our wonderful servant Davis – made this trip unforgettable for all four of us.

After Kilimanjaro guide Kesss picked us up in his jeep for a 5 day safari tour. He is a very skilled and excellent nature-guide, and we had a memorable trip observing the animals under Kesss’ guidance.

Thank you for great experiences – we will recommend Zara Tours at any time.

Best regards
Dorte-Lene Bacher (called Mama)

Claudio Marcio Areco Junior

Good afternoon,

Everything was great in Tanzania, a country of excellent people. Special thanks to Mr. Hamis, who helped me from the beginning of the contacts with Zara Tour and also during the stay, to the mountain guide Theophil (of extraordinary competence and wisdom) and his team, who gave us the reach to the summit accompanied by excellent food, the driver / safari guide Omary, attentive, communicative and knowledgeable about the wildlife and all the friendly staff at the Springland Hotel, who has an extremely polite maitre d.

I hope I have the opportunity to return.

Thank you and great 2018!​

Anneliese and Anton

Dear Mrs. Zainab Ansell !

We are back from our excellent journey an we will say thank you for this experience.

From the moment of our arrival to the time of our departure we were excellent attended.

Our guide Ally was allways in a cheerful mood and he presented us much information

about the land and its people, the animals and also the plants.

He spoke also a very good German.

Our driver Joel was not only a excellent driver, he also was allways on the right place.

So the journey was a great enjoyment for us and we can recomand ZARA Tours all our friends.

Thank you again !

Anneliese and Anton

Piyawut

Hello,

Our trip with Zara Tour was excellent. Everything was perfect, our guide is very good, and we still keep in touch with them.
Thank you for the unforgettable lifetime experiences.
We will gladly recommend our friends to go to Tanzania with Zara tours.

Thank you,
Piyawut
Oct 2017
Thailand

Antonio Mallet

Dear Kadra,

I am very happy With everything.
We had a great time.
Places, staff, guide driver are very helpful, simpatic and really professional.
The food was wonderful everywhere.
Thanks for great time and enjoyable experience.
Best regards,

Antonio Mallet
Sept 2017
Brazil

Mashal
My experience was profound I loved every second of it and wouldn’t change a thing about Zara Tours.

Please send my regards to Mama Zara. I will come back soon with my friends.

Mashal
July 2017
Saudi Arabia

Dayana and Valeria
Dear Mrs. Zainab Ansell,

First, we would like to introduce ourselves. My name is Valeria and my friend’s name is Dayana, both from Brazil.

We climbed Kilimanjaro on July 2017 with your company, Zara Tanzania Adventures and we are writing to speak about the team that was with us on the mountain. We are very grateful to all of the group.

Climbing Kilimanjaro is an unforgettable and unique experience and we had a chance to do that with a very good and special team. They were eleven

men: 1- Yesse, the guide chief ; 2- Maisha, the guide assistant; 3- Juliasi, the cooker; 4- Leonard, the waiter; 5- Izidori, who took care of our private toilet; 6- Mgashimu, porter; 7- Hillary, porter; 8- Elimokozi, porter; 9- Alibert, porter; 10-Waleme, porter; 11- Masai, porter.

Everything was perfect because they did their hard work very well. Yesse knows the mountain very well and he is able to help people on their demands. Walking behind Maisha was perfect because he knows how to make our body supports the challenge. Eating Juliasi’s meal was so good.

Leonard, our waiter, is also perfect and gentle. Our private toilette was very clean all the time and our baggage was carried with care along the trek. All of these men were so kind and respectful with us and we are very grateful to them.

For sure, we were able to climbing Kilimanjaro on the last day only because Yesse and Maisha were with us.

Because of that, we highly recommend them. In fact, we highly recommend all the team. Zara company can be proud of this team.

Warm regards,

Dayana and Valeria (also called, Mama Simba because I am 60 years old)

Kirsten

Dear Zainab and Kitondo

Thank you very much for a really god safari tour. We enjoyed it so much. We felt safe all the way from when we were picked up at Kilimanjaro airport and on the Safari and back to Springland Hotel again. We had big and exciting experiences. It was all well arranged.

Also thank you to all the staff at Springland Hotel. For the kindness and hospitality, they showed us. And to Daniel, Godlisten and Elias for giving us and unforgetable Safari.

We won`t hesitate to recommend you.

Kind regards

Kirsten

Pat, Ann, Janet & Nikki

It was one of the best trip I ever had.
One week before arriving Yesse Lema made contact with me and wanted to get to know our group. After arriving three day before Yesse came to my room and introduced himself in person and advised us he would attend the hotel at 4:00 the day before and explain the trip and make sure we had the right equipment and what food we liked, On day one Yesse introduced assistant guide Hiliery Kombe and Maisha Francis and our adventure started, We could not have had better Guides, they worked very hard to meet our every need.
We would not have summit if it wasn’t for the superb effort by these three guides. I can not say enough about their effort to get us to the summit.
I will always remember their extraordinary effort to get all four of us to the summit.
Always will be in our hearts
The safari was a 5 day and was also very good Paul tried his best to get the best positions for picture taking and cleaned the vehicle every night .
Thanks to Zara tours It was and absolutely fabulous trip.
You exceeded our every expectation.
Thank you again
Dr.Naimul Brampton Ontario Canada

The Management

Zara Tours, Moshi , Kallimanjaro
Tanzania,
Dear Sir/Madame,
We took a trek up to Mt.Kilimanjaro in December 2011 through Gap Adventures but, stayed at your hotel. As we understand , the trip was organized by your company. I am writing this letter to express our gratitude. The service staff at Moshi, Springdale hotel was fabulous. They demonstrate care and professionalism. I avail this opportunity to express our personal gratitude to our guide Mr.Colman Temba and his team for incredible leadership and dedication to customer care. We would never make to the summit with their help. As head guide Mr.Temba exhibited many of the qualities that are essential to a successful climb. The team worked in such a harmony that our expedition turned into a dream of a life time. We like to thank you all for wonderful hospitality and professional service.

Martin
The trip was really great. That was my 5th time doing Kili and working with Zara and it just gets better each time. I work with a wonderful crew that feels like family to me.

Thank you for the follow up.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Vicki
We had a fabulous trip and were extremely pleased with Zara Tours!
Every aspect of our trip, the climb, the safari, and visit to Zanzibar went off without a glitch.
We will most definitely recommend Zara Tours to our friends and family.
Thanks you for such an awesome experience!

Vicki – July 2018

Sarah
My trip was fantastic thank you. I would and will recommend Zara tours to anyone I know wanting to go to Tanzania.

Thanks!

Sue & Andy Collinson
Our honeymoon trip to Tanzania to safari was simply amazing. Our heart felt thanks to our guide Peter who was amazing, nothing was too much trouble, his knowledge and clear love of the places we visited made our experience unique. It was a trip I had only dreamed about, but exceeded all expectations. Thank you from us both, Peter.
Sue & Andy Collinson – September 2018
Kevin
Hello,

Thank you for reaching out for feedback. Our tour with Zara tour was excellent! Our team led by Felix was phenomenal which resulted in our memorable time in Tanzania. Felix was very professional and took in our feedback to customize our time on the mountain from small details like when to start/stop each day. He was able to set a good pace to ensure a successful climb that met our goals. Part of our group did not wish to summit for personal reasons, Felix was very respectful of this request but assisted the other up to the top of Kilimanjaro. Both Felix and our Assistant Guide were knowledgeable of the mountain which helped us see some wildlife and learn about the plants during the climb.

The entire team was excellent during our time. The Porters were very attentive and helpful, the cook made wonderful food each day for us, the waiter (Simon) was a friendly face each day to ensure all our needs were met, and the guide/assistant guides did an excellent job ensuring that we had detailed information on surroundings. Each stop was well organized, our tent was promptly set up and all our questions and concerns addressed quickly.

Excellent service overall and I will be sure to recommend Zara Tours to future guests looking for Kilimanjaro or Safari tours. The team did a phenominal job at ensuring our safety and concerns were heard while ensuring we had a great adventure.

Thank you also to Jane for being so attentive to organizing our itinerary so carefully and answering all the questions prior to booking! It was very helpful and always prompt!

Thank you,

Kevin Sept 2018

Timo and Katrin
The Springlands Hotel was our starting point for Meru, Kili and Safari. We felt very comfortable there. The staff were always very friendly, polite and eager to please us. The rooms were fine (it’s just Africa, usually there is only 1-2 nights between tours). All beds are provided with mosquito nets. The food was good and varied. You can safely eat salad. This is washed according to staff with boiled water. The restaurant manager Jacob is always very attentive, always has a good spell in stock. There are a lot of trainees busy, who are well looked after by Jacob and his team. There is a car service if you want to go to the city. The hotel is part of ZARA Tours, which also organized trips to Mount Meru, Kili and Safari. We had a great trip! Thanks again to Zainab Ansell and her team. Specially to our mointain guides Mdeme and Salimu, Mustafa (cook), Rabin (waiter), our Safari guide Gilli, Jacob with his restaurant and bar team (Amina, Benson and all the others) and the reception team (Hans and the others)!!!

Timo and Katrin, Jan 8, 2019

Nassim
The hospitality began the first second I exited the airport. I met a lady who directed me to a van who drove me to Springlands. When I got to the hotel, everyone was so friendly and Zubaydah was hilarious and immediately answered all my questions. I had a tasty dinner a little later and met most of the staff (all of which we would become fast friends with throughout our trip). The next morning I went with a guide Julian into Mosh town and he showed us some of the sights. Afterwards my two friends came from Nairobi and we all caught up over drinks and food at the dinner table. We met Mndeme and Ayubu and were really excited for our climb for the next 7 days. That night we met Zainab and her husband and they were so nice to us, we talked for a long time.

My two friends and I had THE BEST experience on our journey up Mount Kilimanjaro. Mndeme, Ayubu, Felix, and the entire team were incredible and are the sole reason we had such an amazing experience. We would not have made it to the top safely and successfully without each and every one of them. Many thanks to them.

When we returned from the climb, we saw Mama Zara and she immediately gave the 3 of us a huge hug and wanted to know how our climb was. We told her everything and she made sure we had no issues. Later that day my girlfriend joined and we said goodbye to one of my friends. The next day we were leaving for a safari. That night in the TV room we met Kasim and he was awesome. He is around our age so we all connected and talked for a long time.

The next morning after breakfast, we met our guide Jimmy for the safari. How can I describe such a beautiful experience in an email. Jimmy took care of us on the trip, asking us often if we wanted to see anything specific, staying at spots as long as we wanted and very accommodating. During the safari we saw everything we wanted to see times ten. The first day we went to Manyara and saw so many animals. Jimmy let us know that we “hope we get lucky” and we did. Several elephant families walked feet away from the car, zebras, giraffes, and water buffalo as well. We were amazed and didn’t think it could get better. We were wrong. At night we went to the Highlands Hotel. We had a great dinner and played cards in the lobby till night time. The room was great and we were excited to see more. Day 2 and 3 were the Serengeti and everything from the cheetah and her baby cub feet away from our jeep, the immaculate private lodges we stayed in, to the giant elephant that walked up to our car in the middle of an infinite plain. Incredible. Day 4 was the Ngorogoro Crater and after an hour we saw the rhinos! Amazing. We stayed at the Ngorogoro Crater Lodge and the staff was awesome. We played a game of Jenga with the entire staff and it was so much fun. Day 5 was the Home of the Elephant, Tarangire National Park. So incredible, we saw over 80-100 elephant all together.

When we returned we had another day where we just relaxed by the pool and enjoyed the sun before heading back home. The entire time we felt like home. The staff at every location, especially Springlands were so friendly and inviting. The hike, the safari, all of it was well done. Please tell Mama Zara and everyone from Zara, ASANTESANA!

Best,

Nassim

Feb 27/2019

Zoltan
Dear Kadra!

Thank you for your feedback interest I can confirm and express the most satisfied feeling about the completed tour organized by Zara. The organized attitude and commitment of personal was remarkable every camp or hotel was suitable for a highest standard in regard. It is the second time been at Zara and I can freely recommend anyone who seeking adventure or leisure. I had an unforgettable time spent there and learned a lot about people cultural habit and adaptation to living possibilities, a country geological basic establishment, plants and animals environmental adaptation in different areas.

Thank you!

Zoltan

Mike Davies
I’ve taken eight different safaris with over one hundred visitors, I’ve summited Kilimanjaro with many different visitors – and I’ve always gone with ZARA! And always will! Zainab has put together an incredible organization that always provides safe, secure, extremely professional, and rewarding experiences for my travelers. Every single member of her team are friendly, courteous, and professional – always ensuring my visitors are their number one priority! A huge thank you to Zainab and ZARA! I’ll book my next visit soon!
Nathalie Demuth and Nadine Ries
Good evening,
We would like to thank you for this nice Safari in Tanzania from 22.07- 27.07.
The driver was very professional and friendly and all the lodges were very nice.
Nice greetings from Luxemburg,
Nathalie Demuth and Nadine Ries
Genevieve Lopez
Hi Kadra,

Thank you for contacting me about my recent trip…it was INCREDIBLE!! I don’t know where to begin, everything exceeded my expectations. My hike up Kilimanjaro was so well organized. Our guide, Photo, our assistant guide, Steven, all of our porters, our cook, everyone was professional, kind, encouraging, attentive…we felt very taken care of. And we had a successful summit! I will be forever grateful for our whole team.

Our 4-day safari was unforgettable! Our driver, Jerry, was awesome…he helped us see so many animals and he told us lots of fun animal facts. Every location we stayed overnight at was unique and wonderful. All of the different hotel employees were so friendly and professional. We loved being a part of the wild and experiencing Tanzania so closely.

The food throughout the trip was delicious!! I felt well fed the entire time. This was the trip of a lifetime! I left a glowing recommendation on TripAdvisor. From the bottom of my heart, I thank Zara Tours for this amazing experience!!

Verena
Dear Zara Tours,
I had an amazing experience I will never forget in my life. Thank you so much.
Thanks a lot!
All the best to you!

Verena

Sue Van Schreven
We have just completed a charity climb for our organisation Orphans Aid International celebrating our 15 years. We were a team of 16 climbers doing the Lemosho 8 day route. We are thankful we chose Zara tours and thankful to Silvano and his excellent team. They all did a wonderful job and helped us in numerous ways. I would not have made it to the top if it wasn’t for their encouragement and support. They went out of their way to serve and pass on their knowledge and experience, their songs and enthusiasm were highlights for us all. Thank you Silvano and all your team and Zara tours. Highly recommend.
Liz
Dear Zara Tours, we had an unforgettable experience on our 11 day safari. It was the trip of a lifetime. The professionalism of Zara staff was commendable. We felt welcomed and cared for by hotel and wildcamp staff. An example of this is when my husband developed a cough from Serengeti dust, our guide (Moody) and dining supervisor (Joseph) collaborated to provide us with some ginger and honey. The mixture was very soothing and healing. This caring is above and beyond what would be a expected. Outstanding staff at Highview include Miriam, Jackson and Hansi. Special mention of staff at Springlands include Festo, Zubeda, Anna, G, and Jacob.

Two things come to mind that may need some improvement. One is Moody’s English skills. It must be very difficult for guides to be fluent in all languages, however, English is a common language for many international travelers. My comment is not at all about our guide’s  knowledge, it is about pronunciation. Many times I had to resort to asking him to spell the plant or animal that he was pointing out. Other than that small inconvenience, we were highly satisfied with Moody’s driving skills, courtesy, experience of the vast area and knowledge of flora and fauna.

The other suggestion I have is that you have more information on your website and safari itinerary descriptions about the difficult road conditions going to the Wildcamps in the Serengeti. We are travelers in our 70’s in reasonably good health. We were not prepared for 8 hours of bone jarring

 

I have already recommended Zara to a family member and a friend.

Alice
My husband and I would like to recommend our guide Festo Vincent and his team for an award, as we were very impressed by their skills and professionalism.

We climbed Mount Kilimanjaro in July 2019 by the Lemosho route. There was a team of 14 of whom we personally got to know Festo, Maurice, Emanuel and Francis.

As leader, Festo Vincent demonstrated impressive knowledge of the mountain and he prioritised our safety and comfort. He recommended actions to minimize risk such as additional acclimatisation walks, and also gave detailed advice on keeping hydrated, appropriate clothing and kit for the day bag. We felt as if he was wholly committed to us achieving our goal and it felt like he gave us autonomy over our expedition, which was what we wanted. He encouraged self belief in every member of the party. We were also very impressed at the interaction he had with his team and indeed fellow porters on the mountain.

Because we witnessed two rescues, one of a guide and the other a tourist, we became particularly interested in the great work Zara Charity is doing via Mount Kilimanjaro Porters Society: improving living and working conditions for porters by providing education on financial management, health, environment conservation, and English classes so as to improve their prospects in life.  We think it is really important that all porters are insured against injury while working.

Thank you. The experience we had in Tanzania was truly unforgettable and we will highly recommend Zara tours and particularly Festo Vincent as an excellent mountain guide.

Need Help? Chat with us